Children's Select Committee

MINUTES OF THE CHILDREN'S SELECT COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 7 DECEMBER 2023 AT COUNCIL CHAMBER - COUNTY HALL, BYTHESEA ROAD, TROWBRIDGE, BA14 8JN.

Present:

Cllr Jon Hubbard (Chairman), Cllr Jacqui Lay (Vice-Chairman), Cllr Helen Belcher OBE, Cllr Mary Champion, Cllr Carole King, Cllr Jo Trigg, Cllr Mark Verbinnen, Cllr Bridget Wayman and Cllr Trevor Carbin (Substitute)

Also Present:

Cllr Jane Davies, Cllr Laura Mayes

124 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from:

John Hawkins Dr Mike Thompson

125 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

126 Chairman's Announcements

There were no chairman's announcements.

127 Public Participation

There was no public participation.

128 Urgent Items

There were no urgent items.

129 Date of Next Meeting

The next meeting will be held on 24 January 2024.

130 Safety Valve Management Plan

The Childrens Select Committee considered the recommendation to exclude the public. Following which, it was:

Resolved:

To agree that in accordance with Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 to exclude the public from the meeting for the business specified in Item Number 14-15 because it is likely that if members of the public were present there would be disclosure to them of exempt information as defined in paragraph 3 of Part I of Schedule 12A to the Act and the public interest in withholding the information outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information to the public.

Officers delivered a presentation which informed the Childrens Select Committee on the draft High Needs Block Sustainability Plan, which was due to be submitted to the Department for Education's (DfE) Safety Valve Programme.

(Duration of meeting: 13:00pm – 15:55pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Max Hirst of Democratic Services, direct line 01225718215, e-mail <u>max.hirst@wiltshire.gov.uk</u>

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line 01225 713114 or email communications@wiltshire.gov.uk